ESA Certification in Georgia

Reviewed By Kim •  Updated: 05/08/22 •  3 min read
The contents of the website, such as text, graphics, images, and other material contained on this site (“Content”) are for informational purposes only. The Content is not intended to be a substitute for professional veterinarian advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your veterinarian with any questions you may have regarding the medical condition of your pet. Never disregard professional advice or delay in seeking it because of something you have read on this website! Some of the links in this post are affiliate links. This means if you click on the link and purchase this item or service, we will receive an affiliate commission at no extra cost to you. All opinions remain our own.

ESA Certification in Georgia

What are Emotional Support Animals?

Emotional Support Animals (ESA) are animals that provide emotional support and comfort to those with a mental or physical disability. Emotional Support Animals are sometimes referred to as “assist animals” or “therapy animals.”

There is no formal certification process for these animals, but there are many organizations that provide guidelines for what types of animals can be used as emotional support animals.

ESA Certificate
Do You Qualify For An Emotional Support Animal?

We help people get the proper documentation to make their pet an official Emotional Support Animal. Online approval in minutes - Housing & Travel letters.

Emotional Support Animals have been recognized in the United States by the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) since 1990. Emotional Support Animals may be a service animal, working animal, or therapy animal under the ADA.

While there is no certification process for Emotional Support Animals, some states require special identification cards or licenses for these animals in order to protect the rights of all individuals with disabilities who rely on them.

In Georgia, Emotional Support Animals are not protected under the ADA because they do not qualify as service animals under the law. However, they may be protected under state law if they meet certain criteria established by each state that allows them to be legally classified as an Emotional Support Animal (ESA). The requirements vary from state to state and depend on whether your ESA qualifies as a service animal or working animal under state law.

Emotional Support Animals Vs. Service Animals

Emotional Support Animals are sometimes confused with service animals. However, they are different. Service animals assist people with disabilities by performing tasks that the person cannot perform for him or herself. Service animals include guide dogs, hearing dogs, seizure alert dogs, and psychiatric service animals. The ADA defines a service animal as “any dog that is individually trained to do work or perform tasks for the benefit of an individual with a disability, including a physical, sensory, psychiatric, intellectual, or other mental disability. Other species of animals, whether wild or domestic, trained or untrained are not service animals for the purposes of this definition.”

ESA Certificate
Do You Qualify For An Emotional Support Animal?

We help people get the proper documentation to make their pet an official Emotional Support Animal. Online approval in minutes - Housing & Travel letters.

Laws Regarding Emotional Support Animal in Georgia

The process of acquiring an Emotional Support Animal (ESA) certification in Georgia can be very frustrating and confusing.

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) provides some general guidelines for Emotional Support Animals, but there are no specific laws for the certification process. There is no government agency that is responsible for this process.

Instead, the regulation of Emotional Support Animals comes from individual states and local municipalities. In order to acquire an Emotional Support Animal certification in Georgia, a person must first have a physical or mental disability and then prove that their emotional support animal helps them to perform everyday tasks that are restricted by their physical or mental disability.

Some general rules about Emotional Support Animals in Georgia:

  1. An Emotional Support Animal must be certified by a licensed professional (such as a physician or psychologist).
  2. The individual must have a written diagnosis from their physician regarding their disabilities.
  3. The letter of diagnosis includes affirmation that the emotional support animal provides support and assistance in alleviating the patients’ symptoms.
  4. The physician must have a practice license in Georgia.
(Visited 44 times, 1 visits today)


Kim is a talented author, who loves animals especially dogs. She engaged in writing books and articles relating to animals a decade ago. Kim resides in Chicago with her husband and son. The family is the proud owner of a dog and a parrot (Jack and Lily). Kim wanted more than these two pets, but her husband put his foot down... She often visits elementary schools to talk to the kids about what she learned about pets and how they could learn from them.

Keep Reading